OUR MAIN ACTIVITIES

All our interventions focus on a single goal: to protect turtles and their egg-laying sites on the Bourail coastline.

Support us

monitoring the turtles

The beaches of Bourail (La Roche Percée and Baie des Tortues) are the first site for laying large-headed turtles (Caretta caretta) in New Caledonia, and the second site in the South Pacific. The first location is in Australia, in Mon Repos (Bundaberg).

reforestation

If marine turtles do not find a welcoming environment, they will not lay eggs. Based on this observation, Bwärä – Marine Turtles set up a nursery in 2008 and started to collect seeds, buy plants and grow all these trees to ensure the sustainability of the beaches and the best welcome for turtles.

education

The third aspect of the association’s action is to raise public awareness of the themes of marine turtle protection and the environment in general. Taking part to local events, being involved in environmental commitees to inform and support.

advice

To respect marine turtles, the ideal is not to come to the beach at night during the breeding season (from November to May)!

All marine ecosystems are under increasing pressure and threats from human activities such as tourism development, overexploitation of resources, pollution and poaching. Among the threatened or endangered species, sea turtles of all species are particularly vulnerable. They are all protected.

environmental legislation

together, let’s protect the marine turtles 
and their spawning sites.

fines

Heavy fines of up to 1 million CFP francs are foreseen for any infringement. The fine is doubled when these offences are committed in a protected area. However… La Roche Percée, La Baie des Tortues, Poé, and l’île Verte, are classified as Marine Nature Reserves. As such, public access is regulated.

legislation

La Roche Percée and La Baie des Tortues are concerned by the Protection of Marine Turtles, species in danger of extinction. As such, the following are strictly prohibited:

  • the production of light
  • approaching at a distance of less than 10 metres from the animal
  • the destruction or removal of eggs and nests
  • hunting, fishing
  • the introduction of dogs on the sites and during egg laying and emergency periods
  • disturb protected animals for photography or sound recording
  • the destruction or degradation of egg laying sites.

NOS ACTIONS PRINCIPALES

Toutes nos interventions convergent vers un seul but: protéger les tortues et leurs sites de ponte sur le littoral de Bourail.

Nous soutenir

suivi des tortues marines

Les plages de Bourail (La Roche Percée et la Baie des Tortues) représentent le premier site de pontes des tortues Grosse-Tête (Caretta caretta) en Nouvelle-Calédonie, et le deuxième site dans le Pacifique Sud. Le premier site est situé en Australie, à Mon Repos (Bundaberg).

reboisement

Si les tortues marines ne trouvent pas un environnement accueillant, elles ne pondront pas. Compte tenu de cette observation, Bwärä Tortues Marines a mis en place une pépinière en 2008 et a commencé à récupérer des graines, acheter des plants et faire pousser tous ces arbres destinés à assurer la pérennité des plages et le meilleur accueil pour les tortues.

éducation

Le troisième volet d’action de l’association est la sensibilisation du public aux thématiques de la protection des tortues marines et de l’environnement de manière générale.

conseils

Pour respecter les tortues marines, l’idéal est de ne pas venir sur la plage la nuit pendant la période de reproduction (de novembre à mai) !

Tous les écosystèmes marins sont soumis à des pressions et des menaces de plus en plus fortes exercées par les activités humaines comme le développement du tourisme, la surexploitation des ressources, la pollution, le braconnage. Parmi les espèces menacées ou en voie de disparition, les tortues de mer de toutes espèces sont particulièrement exposées. Elles sont toutes protégées.

code de l'environnement

ensemble, protégeons les tortues 
et leurs sites de ponte.

amendes

De lourdes amendes pouvant aller jusqu’à 1 million de franc CFP sont prévues pour toute infraction. L’amende est doublée lorsque ces infractions sont commises dans une aire protégée. Or… La Roche Percée, La Baie des Tortues, Poé, et l’île Verte, sont classées en Réserves Naturelles Marines. A ce titre, l’accès du public est réglementé.

réglementation

La Roche Percée et La Baie des Tortues sont concernées par la Protection des Tortues Marines, espèce en danger d’extinction. À ce titre, sont formellement interdits :

  • la production de lumière
  • l’approche à une distance inférieure à 10 mètres de l’animal
  • La destruction ou l’enlèvement des œufs et des nids,
  • la chasse,
  • la pêche,
  • , l’introduction de chiens sur les sites et en période de ponte et d’émergences,
  • La poursuite des animaux protégés pour la prise de vues ou de son,
  • La destruction ou la dégradation des sites de ponte.